A warm Welcome to the Renthof Kassel

Since its reopening in June 2017, the historic Renthof Kassel has been a modern boutique hotel with exclusive gastronomy, a bar and several individual event locations.

For this contemporary use, the building, which was originally built as a Carmelite monastery in 1298, was completely refurbished in keeping with the monuments of history and under the preservation of the architecture and history of the house.

The house now offers a unique atmosphere characterized by the interplay of the historical elements and the modern design of the interior, which the owners have selected individually and carefully for each building area.

History & Stories since 1298

1298

The Monastery

Disillusioned crusaders gather in the mid 12th century at the ancient Mount Carmel in Palestine and devote themselves to the founding of a hermit community. The expansion of the Saracens forces the Order of the Carmelites back to Europe. Landgrave Heinrich the I. calls the order to settle in Kassel in 1262. They buy a house from a Jewish woman called Rachel and start building a church and monastery in 1298 – a project that would last for the next 78 years, todays „Renthof“, the location for our hotel.
1595

The Gentry school

The reformation forces the closing of the Roman Catholic monastery – the first closure of it´s kind. Landgrave Maurice the Learned, a composer, lover of music, theater, art in general, architecture and alchemy redesigns the monastery into a gentry school where the renowned composer Heinrich Schuetz received his first education.
>> image: original class schedule from 1595
1617

The Knight Academy

The Gentry school is transformed into a Knight Academy
<< image: Original Magazine report about the knight academy from 1918
1633

The University

In the midst of the Thirty Year’s War the University of Marburg opens it´s Kassel branch in the north-west wing of the building complex.
1670

The Administration/Court

From the 2nd half of the 17th century the building complex houses many royal administrations as an expansion of the chambers at the river Fulda. From now on the building complex is called „Renthof“.

Bild: land-registry photography from 1898 - today´s entry into our hotel

1943

Home for elderly people

Allied Air forces bombard the City of Kassel with 400.000 firebombs falling in 1.5 hrs. 80% of all buildings including the whole historic center are destroyed. 10.000 people die. The only partly destroyed „Renthof” is rebuilt by the Society for Wellbeing as a retreat for the elderly .
1995

Old Brother´s church

1995 the foundation „Alte Brüderkirche“ renovates the early gothic church after it has been left by the congregation in 1970. The historical church serves as a extraordinary event space which Rainer Holzhauer and his team cater to.

Partner

Kontakt/Contact

Renthof Kassel

Adresse/Adress
Renthof GmbH
Renthof 3
34117 Kassel
Germany

Telefon/Phone
+49 (0)561 50668 0

eMail:
info@renthof-kassel.de

Herzlich Willkommen im Renthof Kassel

Der historische Renthof Kassel beherbergt seit seiner Neueröffnung im Juni 2017 ein modernes Boutiquehotel mit exklusiver Gastronomie, Bar und mehreren individuellen Eventlocations.

Für diese zeitgenössische Nutzung wurde das 1298 ursprünglich als Karmeliterkloster erbaute Gebäude denkmalgerecht und unter erinnernder Bewahrung der Architektur und Geschichte des Hauses komplett saniert.

So bietet das Haus heute eine einzigartige Atmosphäre, die geprägt ist durch das Zusammenspiel der historischen Grundelemente und dem modernen Design der Inneneinrichtung, die von den Eigentümern selber für jeden Gebäudebereich individuell und sorgfältig ausgesucht wurde.

Geschichte(n) seit 1298

1298

Das Kloster

Desillusionierte Kreuzfahrer gründen im Karmel Gebirge um die Mitte des 12. Jhd in Palästina eine Gemeinschaft in der Tradition der Wüsteneremiten. Doch das Vorrücken der Sarazenen zwingt den jungen Orden der Karmeliter in die lange Flucht zurück nach Europa. 1262 sind sie zur Ansiedlung in Kassel durch Landgraf Heinrich I. berufen, kaufen ein Haus von der Jüdin Rachel und bauen ab 1298 die Brüderkirche mit Kloster – den heutigen Renthof…die Location für unser Hotel
1595

Die Hofschule

Die Reformation zwingt das Karmeliterkloster 1526 zur Auflösung. Landgraf Moritz der Gelehrte – Kunstliebhaber, Komponist, Alchemist und Architekt lässt das Kloster zu einer Hofschule und Gewerbeschule umbauen. Hier wurde auch der junge und heute weltbekannte Komponist Heinrich Schütz ausgebildet.

Bild: Original handschriftlicher Stundenplan um 1595

1617

Die Ritter Akademie

Die Hofschule wird zur Ritter-Akademie umgebaut.

Bild: Historischer Bericht zur Ritterakdemie in einer Zeitschrift von 1918
1633

Die Universität

Mitten im 30jährigen Krieg wird die Universität Marburg/ Kassel feierlich im Nord-West Flügel eröffnet.
1670

Das Gericht & die Behörden

Seit der zweiten Hälfte des 17. Jahrhunderts nahm der Gebäudekomplex, der von nun an Renthof genannt wird, mehrere hessische Oberbehörden und Gerichte als Erweiterung des angrenzenden Kanzleigebäudes an der Fulda auf.
Bild: Katasteramt Fotografie von 1898 - der heutige Eingang des Hotels
1943

Der Lebensraum für Senioren

Alliierte Fliegerverbände werfen binnen eineinhalb Stunden etwa 400.000 Stadtbrandbomben auf Kassel ab. Sie zerstörten rund 80 Prozent der Gebäude, darunter fast die gesamte Altstadt. Etwa 10.000 Menschen starben. Der „nur“ teilweise zerstörte Renthof wird vom Verein für Volkswohl als Lebensraum für Senioren eingerichtet und besteht bis 2012.
1995

Die Brüderkirche

1995 renovierte die „Stiftung Alte Brüderkirche“ – die frühgotische Kirche, nachdem diese 1970 durch die Gemeinde verlassen wurde und zunehmend verfiel. Sie dient von nun an als besonderer Veranstaltungsraum, der von Rainer Holzhauer und dem Grischäfer bewirtet wird.

Kontakt

Renthof Kassel

Adresse:
Renthof GmbH
Renthof 3
34117 Kassel
Germany

Telefon:
+49 (0)561 50668 0

eMail:
info@renthof-kassel.de